Colorado Capitol Watch
border Logo hdr_right_bottom

Bill Detail: HB22-1013

Return to list of bills


Title Microgrids For Community Resilience Grant Program
Status Governor Signed (06/02/2022)
Bill Subjects
  • Energy
House Sponsors M. Snyder (D)
R. Pelton (R)
Senate Sponsors F. Winter (D)
D. Hisey (R)
House Committee Energy and Environment
Senate Committee Transportation and Energy
Date Introduced 01/12/2022

The bill creates the microgrids for community resilience grant
program (grant program) to be administered by the division of local
government (division) in the department of local affairs (department), in
collaboration with the Colorado resiliency office (office) in the division.
A cooperative electric association or a municipally owned utility (utility)

may apply to the division for a grant award to finance the purchase of
microgrid resources in eligible rural communities within the utility's
service territory that are at significant risk of severe weather or natural
disaster events and in which there are one or more community anchor
institutions. The microgrids, which can be connected to or be
disconnected from, and work independent of, the utility's electric grid,
can increase an eligible rural community's resilience regarding any
interruptions to the electric grid, such as those caused by severe weather
or natural disaster events. On an annual basis, the division is required to
report on the progress of the grant program, submit copies of the report
to the house of representatives energy and environment committee and
the senate transportation and energy committee, or their successor
committees, and publish the report on the department's website.

Committee Reports
with Amendments
Full Text
Full Text of Bill (pdf) (most recent)
Fiscal Notes Fiscal Notes (05/03/2022) (most recent)  
Additional Bill Documents Bill Documents
  • Past bill versions
  • Past fiscal notes
  • Committee activity and documents
  • Bill History
Lobbyists Lobbyists
Votes House and Senate Votes
Vote Totals Vote Totals by Party
border   border
Copyright © 2008-2022 State Capitol Watch